About CMU

Chittagong Medical University (CMU) is established by the “Chittagong Medical University Act, 2016.” The father of the nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman declared to establish Medical Universities in Bangladesh after liberation in 1972. Accordingly, our Honorable Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina established the 1st Medical University after the name of the Father of the nation “Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University” in 1998. Honorable PM declared to establish Medical Universities in every divisional headquarters. As per her vision to promote medical education, research and healthcare services, “The Chittagong Medical University Act 2016” passed in the National Parliament and the Gazette was published on May 12, 2016.

The mission of this public medical university is to expand the higher medical education, research & ensure efficient healthcare services in Bangladesh. The responsibility of CMU is to affiliate all Health Professional Institutions within the geographical area of greater Chittagong Division. The university will monitor the quality assurance processes, scaling up of health professional educations and trainings to produce competent health workforces for improvement of the overall healthcare services in Bangladesh. The University will be involved in medical research activities by playing the enabler role of intersection between the institutions and faculties towards mission goals.

The Honorable President & Chancellor appointed Professor Dr. Md. Ismail Khan as the 1st Vice -Chancellor of Chittagong Medical University on 10th April, 2016. Professor Khan joined as Vice Chancellor of CMU on 13th May, 2017. He was the Principal of Dhaka Medical College and also was Dean of the Faculty of Medicine of Dhaka University. He has been involved in teaching profession for about thirty years as a teacher of Pharmacology at different Medical colleges in Bangladesh and also in University of Science, Malaysia (USM). Prof. Khan graduated MBBS from Chittagong Medical College. He did his post-graduation in Pharmacology from Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University (Former IPGM&R) and also from University of New South Wales (UNSW), Sydney, Australia in Health Professional Education.

According to the University Act, about 26 Health Professional Institutions (Medical Colleges, Dental Colleges, Unani Medical College, Nursing Colleges and other Allied Bachelor courses) are now affiliated with the CMU and among them, there are 16 Medical Colleges, 2 Dental Colleges, 1 Unani Medical College and 4 Nursing Colleges. Students who are admitted in 2017-18 session in these Colleges/Institutes are now registered by CMU.

The Honorable Prime Minister already approved about 24 acres area at Salimpur, Fouzderhat, Chittagong for establishment of Chittagong Medical University. The process of designing the master plan and formulation of DPP are going on under the supervision of Architecture Department of Public Works Department and Planning Division of Ministry of Health & Family Welfare. All supports from University Grants Commission (UGC), Ministry of Education & Ministry of Finance are now available in establishment and progress of this University like all other public universities in Bangladesh. We do hope that the Project of CMU will be passed very soon by ECNEC & the relevant postgraduate courses and advanced innovative research activities related to 21st century medical education, new developments in medical treatments & appropriate healthcare support systems will be started soon.

CMU is adamant to provide stirring environment for health professional education and research activities which will improve the health care services to all. The motto words for the University “Illuminating the mind by education, research & care”.